# NDTV'S DR. PRANNOY ROY BAGS REDINK AWARD FOR LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT

# - -- 25 outstanding journalists to be honoured with RedInk Awards on 30 April

Mumbai, 22 April: Dr Prannoy Roy, Executive Co-Chairman of NDTV Group, has been awarded the Mumbai Press Club RedInk Award 2015 for Lifetime Achievement for Excellence in Journalism for his consistent and pioneering contribution to news television in India. Dr Roy will be honoured for his service to journalism at a glittering ceremony on Thursday, 30<sup>th</sup> April in Mumbai at the Jamshed Bhaba Auditorium, NCPA, by Chief Minister of Maharashtra Devendra Fadnavis.

Dr Roy along with his wife and journalist Radhika Roy in 1988, were the first to set up a television news production company called New Delhi Television, now called NDTV. In later years, Dr Roy made a mark for his incisive and pioneering coverage of election news and changed the way people consumed TV news with his ground-breaking programmes such as 'The News Tonight' and 'The World This Week'. After years of producing the news for Star News, Dr Roy launched his own broadcasting network with NDTV 24X7, NDTV India and other channels in 2003. NDTV, one of the largest news networks in the country today, has set up benchmarks for good, ethical and no-frills news coverage.

Dr Prannoy Roy was chosen for the RedInk Lifetime Achievement Award from a shortlist of senior editors by a survey among 200 journalists all over India, and a final consideration by the Managing Committee of the Mumbai Press Club. RedInk Lifetime Achievement award winners in previous years include the late Vinod Mehta, Kuldip Nayar, N Ram, and Mrinal Pande.

Judging for the RedInk Awards, which includes as many as 10 categories have just been completed, and as many as 24 journalists who have produced outstanding and impactful stories in calendar 2014 will also receive awards along with Dr Prannoy Roy on 30 April at the NCPA. The judging process proved to be a herculean task with over 800 entries in the print/online category and nearly 250 stories from television journalists. Each of the categories 10 categories had a dedicated jury of senior persons with domain knowledge assigned to judge the entries. A special curator was also assigned to sift the large number of entries in each section and guide the judges.

The judging process brought in well-known names such as Harsh Mariwala, chairman of Marico, for the Business category, Dr Kiran Shaw Mazumdar, chairperson of Biocon, for the Health & Wellness category, Justice Kode and former Mumbai Police commissioner M.N. Singh for the crime category and Sudanshu Vats, CEO of Viacom18 for the 'Entertainment & Lifestyle' stories.

The RedInk Awards, now in their 5<sup>th</sup> year, has grown in stature over the years attracting entries from all over the country. The Awards have been set up as peer and professional recognition for pathbreaking stories; and to encourage good, ethical journalism that impacts people and society.

Star India is the Presenting Partner for the Mumbai Press Club RedInk Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2015. Some of the awards partners includes Aditya Birla Group, Yes Bank, Indiabulls Housing, Glenmark Pharmaceuticals, Zee Entertainment, Eros International, SevenHills Hospitals and JSW Steel.

This year, the RedInk Awards promises to have many more participants; and the Awards Night will be bigger and better than the years gone by. So block your diaries on Thursday April 30, 2015 at 6.30 pm for an event you'll never forget !!!.

For details contact: Rajesh Mascarenhas 9594088999, or Mrityunjay Bose 9892541019.

Secretary Mumbai Press Club

Red Ink Awards 2015 Jury Members:

#### **BUSINESS**

Mr Harsh Mariwala, Chairman, Marico Dr Janmejaya Kumar Sinha, Chairman - Asia Pacific,Boston Consulting Group Mr Sanjay Bhandarkar, Managing Director, Rothschild (India)

# **CRIME**

Justice P D Kode, Former Judge, Mumbai High Court Mr M N Singh, Former Commissioner, Mumbai Police Mr Asim Sarode, Senior Advocate

## **ENVIRONMENT**

Mr Bittu Saigal, Editor, Sanctuary Asia Mr Darryl D'Monte, Chairperson, Forum of Environmental Journalists of India (FEJI) Ms Meenakshi Menon, Founder, Social Access

#### **HEALTH & WELLNESS**

Dr Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, chairperson, Biocon Dr Yash Lokhandwala, Cardiologist, Holy Family Hospital & Research Centre Dr Ravindra Karanjekar, Cheif Executive Officer, SevenHills Hospital Ms Madhuri Ruia, Nutritionist and Pilates expert, Founder Integym

#### **HUMAN RIGHTS**

Mr Navroz Seervai, Senior Advocate Mr Shailesh Gandhi, Former Chief Information Commissioner Mr Mihir Desai, Senior Advocate

#### LIFESTYLE & ENTERTAINMENT

Mr Sudhanshu Vats, CEO, Viacom18 Mr Peter Mukerjea, Former CEO, Star India Ms Sunita Rao, Singer & Artist

#### **POLITICS**

Mr Sudheendra Kulkarni, Chairman, Observer Research Foundation Mr Vishwanath Sachdev, Former Editor, Navbharat Times Mrs Uttara Sahasrabuddhe, Associate Professor, Civics & Politics Department, Mumbai University

# **SCIENCE & INNOVATION**

Dr Arnab Bhattacharya, Chair, Science Popularization and Public Outreach, TIFR Mr R.K. Singh, Secretary, Indian Nuclear Society Prof. M. N. Vahia, Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics, TIFR

## **SPORTS**

Mr Kiran More, Former Test Cricketer Mr Michel Fereira, Former world billiards champion Mr Yajurvindra Singh, Former Test Cricketer Mr Anil Dharker, Columnist

#### THE BIG PICTURE

Mr Roger Pereira, Vice Chariman, Mumbai First Mr Bobby Pawar, Director & Chief Creative Officer, Publicis Communication Mr Rafeeq Ellias, Well-known Photographer & Cinematographer